If you have been arrested for drunk driving in New York, you could face significant consequences, even if this is your first DWI offense. Challenging the charges with the assistance of an experienced Orange County, New York, DWI defense lawyer can make a considerable difference in the outcome of your case.
With more than 30 years of criminal law experience, I understand how high the stakes are for clients facing charges for drinking and driving. I am prepared to help you defend against these charges and avoid the consequences of a DWI conviction.
Contact my law office today online or by telephone at 845-201-9475 to speak with a knowledgeable Goshen DWI defense attorney.
New York First Offense DWI Penalties
I help clients understand the penalties and work hard to minimize the charges, and ultimately the penalties. Without the help of an experienced DWI defense attorney, you could face first offense DWI penalties such as:
- Fines between $500 and $1,000
- Jail time up to one year
- Driver's license suspension up to six months
If convicted for drunk driving in New York, in addition to fines, jail time and driver's license suspension, you could face collateral consequences such as motor vehicle penalties, driver responsibility assessments and other costs.
Additionally, due to enhancements to New York's DWI laws in 2010, all drivers convicted of drunk driving must install an ignition interlock device (IID) on all vehicles the individual intends to drive. Driving a vehicle not installed with an ignition interlock device during the required time frame is a separate criminal offense and can result in additional penalties.
Goshen Attorney: Second DWI/DUI Offense
A DWI conviction can follow you for years. In fact, if you are charged with a second DWI/DUI within 10 years from a prior DWI conviction, you will be charged with felony DWI:
- Fines between $1,000 and $5,000
- Jail time up to four years (mandatory five days' jail time or 30 days of community service)
- Driver's license revocation for at least one year
Penalties increase with each repeat offense or with aggravated DWI charges, resulting from factors such as having children in the car, having high blood alcohol content (BAC) levels (above .18) or causing a DWI accident that results in injuries or fatalities.
Contact an Orange County Drunk Driving Defense Attorney
If you are facing drunk driving charges in New York, I am here to protect your rights. Contact my law office today online or by telephone at 845-201-9475 to speak with an experienced Goshen DWI defense attorney.